Little Miss Penny Lane (Blog Entry 12)

“I always tell the girls, never take it seriously.  If you never take it seriously, you never get hurt, if you never get hurt, you always have fun, and if you ever get lonely you can just go to the record store and visit your friends.”

The above quote is by the delightful Kate Hudson in one of my favorite movies, Almost Famous.  I was smitten by her aloof demeanor, and how she always has this sparkle in her eye with that posture and the grand movements, free of any arrogance.  In Almost Famous, we are transported back to a simpler, a more innocent and passionate time.  Though this film is basically centered around the preverbal sex, drugs, and rock and roll (as well as the long road to fame) I cant help but believe that music, really above all else, truly has the power to heal. Even if everything in life is falling apart, I always find solace and comfort in the lyrics of my favorite songs.  As did Miss Penny Lane.  Penny is a radiant dream vision.  Though she looks calm cool and collected, she acts senseless and refuses to face reality which prevents her from having any substance beyond music at all.  Penny loved to live for the music, and to her, the music was one with the man who played it; which of course made her fall in love with the musician as well.

Simply writing her words does not do them justice.  I love this entire movie.  These are only a few simple lines said by a free-spirited, head-in-the-clouds girl but they are so true.  Penny uses music as her rock, her constant something that can always be there whenever it is needed.  Penny shows that music gives you the power to accept what happens to you, and to follow your heart.  Keeping things light hearted is a basic idea that we think easily guarantees happiness.  This is so much easier said than done as it is so hard not to be overly invested in someone or to deny your own feelings.  You have to be in love and have to be loved in order to know difficult it is to let go of a relationship even when you know that person is not worth it.  Penny shows that emotional vulnerability is a good thing and without it, people cannot grow nor learn from their experiences.

 

4 responses to “Little Miss Penny Lane (Blog Entry 12)

  1. I’ve only seen parts of this movie but I’ve always wanted to watch the whole thing! I’ve never gotten around to it. I really like your description of Penny Lane. Kate Hudson is one of my favorite actresses and I would love to see her in such a carefree role. I’m really interested in when you talk about how music used to be much more carefree, usually simple ballads with a soft melody or intense guitar solo. Now music is anybody that has access to autotune, one doesn’t have to be talented or an artist to become a singing sensation. It is pretty unfortunate.

  2. colleenjohnson5

    This movie brings back a lot of high school memories and I too loved this movie and her character. That quote is an interesting one to select because as it highlights her hippie mentality, there are implications of pain and sorrow, which she also embodies. Kate Hudson does well portraying the empowered, yet emotionally wounded character. She aims to be part of the whole scene but still can’t fight the emotions that come along the ride of being totally invested in the music scene. I like how you call her a ‘radiant dream vision’. It seems to sum up her character well. Nice choice of film and analysis!

  3. This was one of my favorite movies and I also admire the free-spirit of Penny. I love the line you said, “Penny shows that emotional vulnerability is a good thing and without it, people cannot grow nor learn from their experiences.” I think many people try to hide their emotions because they are afraid of getting hurt. There are many times in life where people are going to hurt you, but if you learn from those experiences then you will not put yourself in that position again. I think Penny turns to music in order to escape her problems which is a better outlet than a lot of people turn to. I am envious of her life and wish I could be as care free as she is!

  4. This is a great movie, and I thought a great interpretation of it. I’m not sure I’ve even seen this movie all the way through, but I remember the bus scene, which was adorable. I thought it was interesting that you talk about the main character Penny Lane as not being invested enough. Like she needs to be emotionally vulnerable to actually have a complete experience of life. I think this is true, you can’t just live in some alternate reality where everything is sunshine and rainbows all day. I think the quote you posted showed that too, it’s enticing, but at the same time when I was reading it, I felt like it was unhealthy to assume that attitude.

Leave a comment