Flight Blog post #9

 

Pictured above is Michael Jordan flying through the air in the 1988 All-Star Slam Dunk Contest.   Jordan competed against legendary dunker Domonique Wilkins to win the ultimate title of the All-Star Slam Dunk Contest.  Michael Jordan attempted to dunk from the free throw line for one simple reason.  “Because everyone else told me it was impossible. This then made me more determined to do it, so I could prove everyone else wrong.”  Jordan jumped from the free throw line which is 15 feet to the back of the backboard and slammed the ball through the basket receiving all perfect scores and thus willing the NBA All-Star Dunk Contest.  This moment here was one of if not the most influential moment in basketball history.

This picture helps tell a narrative even though it is one simple still frame.  This picture which was instantly turned into an advertisement for Nike tells the story of overcoming believed impossibilities.  It shows how one man took on something that was thought impossible.  It proves that impossible is nothing.  (Which ironically became the slogan for Nike’s main rival Adidas.)  It also shows how the game of basketball has evolved over time.  The game has gone from throwing balls into peach baskets.  To layups where the players hand gently touches the backboard.  To a man running and jumping from 15 feet away floating in the air before dunking the basketball.  All while posing for the perfect picture for his basketball shoes.  So yes this is just one single frame and it could be hard to tell a story about it.  But as you can see this is so much more than a picture.  It is an icon.  It tells the history of the game all while displaying the power of Michael Jordan.  Yet at the same time makes the perfect advertisement.

6 responses to “Flight Blog post #9

  1. katherinegrimm

    I was researching some background contextual information about visual rhetoric and I remember reading a sentence that I think really applies to this photo. It said something along the lines of how a single image can be so powerful that it shows not just the physical sense of the one captured frame, but also tells the story of the events leading up to the very moment, and predicts what probably happens after it as well. Michael Jordan looks as if he is in slow motion as he drives toward the hoop. The fact that there is open space behind, below, above and in front of him really adds to this narrative effect. The layout is open enough to emphasize the distance from his starting point at the free throw line, all the way to the basketball hoop, which is what Jordan is reaching for as his ultimate goal. Great photo choice!

  2. I love that you chose to write about this frame. I feel that this used to be such a popular poster that was hung in rooms and etc. To me, it is crazy to think about how this one moment has changed Nike forever. The outline of his body is on his brand and is so popular and is worn worldwide! It is so crazy to think that this one moment was the start of that. Without this moment Nike would be a completely different brand and Air Jordan would cease to exist. This leads me to think of how powerful a simple moment can be. It also makes me see the value in “reaching for the stars” or “making the impossible, possible” and “never giving up”. Not only this moment create an evolution for a brand, but as you mentioned it completely changed the game.

  3. colleenjohnson5

    I’m from Chicago and bought those shoes simply because of him and this picture. I had a poster of it up in my room and it is definitely a powerful image, regardless of hometown. It is interesting how perfect this picture works for an advertisement. It can capture, a generation, a story and target market. I agree that this image speaks to the universal message visual works generate. It may be Michael Jordan, but it is also a photo of accomplishing the impossible, being the best and pushing the limits. The image has a concrete narrative in my opinion. It can tell a different story for every one and can serve so many purposes. Nice choice and insight!

  4. I really appreciate the way you analyzed this! Your background and analysis gave the image a lot more depth. I really like how you said it “tells the story of overcoming believed impossibilities.” That’s such a great phrase/sentence. Especially “believed impossibilities” — who says it is impossible? How do they know what they’re talking about?! You could totally make art out of those two words!
    So many of these posts have been about childhood, so it might just be that…but when I saw this story I thought of Space Jam. I think the morals of that movie could somehow tie in to what you’re arguing though, too.

  5. jaredshedrofsky

    Awesome choice, I definitely own this poster still and display it proudly even though I’m from NY. Great take on the the picture too, definitely inspirational for many athletes and fans of basketball. Almost makes me want to go out and try and throw it down right now, even though I am very much aware of how far away I am from that. Love the space jam reference too in the comments, the characters came together to overcome the Monstars, proving anything is possible!! Jordan looks so poised in the air, he is proving the impossible is really possible but he appears like he has absolutely no doubt in the matter. I don’t think a single fan behind him is looking away either, such an amazing photo.

  6. It seems like you have a real connection to this image and I’m glad you shared it with us. I think this picture does a lot more than just show a basketball player, Michael Jordan changed the game of basketball and is the idol for so many famous players. I love that you were able to analyze such a simple picture and you how you talked about how it turned into an advertisement.

Leave a comment