Goodnight Moon! (Blog Entry 9)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I saw this prompt my thoughts went immediately to the story “Goodnight Moon”, by Margaret Wise Brown and illustrated by Clement Hurd. I’m sure I am far from alone here, but as a child this story was literally read to me over and over again, night after night before I went to sleep. It is kind of amazing you are so entirely captivated by the same story time after time as a child, but I think it speaks partly to the visual narrative that is created when you view these stories. In this particular story the visual aspect is supposed to be very similar and easy to relate to as a child in bed, literally looking around the room saying good night to many of the things featured in the book.

The text in this book consists of the bunny in bed saying good night to various things around the room, it also all rhymes very nicely. The rhyming adds a flow to the story as the bunny transitions from one thing to the next. The pictures in the book do the most for the story as they are very detailed and the text more just highlights specific things page to page. The artist goes into great detail in each picture making them feel warm and welcoming, adding a nice touch for a kid reading this as a bed time story. In each illustration you can see the lighting in the room getting darker as the story goes on, this works well as the bunny is slowly falling asleep as he goes through his nightly routine. As a child these pictures became a routine for me as well, I said good night to all of the things in my room comparing them to the objects I saw in the illustration. As the book and my routine progressed the lights would dim and I would become connected to the bunny as if we were going to sleep together. It was a team effort of sorts, and something about that I remember being very comforting.

4 responses to “Goodnight Moon! (Blog Entry 9)

  1. eleanorcovington

    I LOVED Goodnight moon! I did the same thing, I would look around my room at night and say goodnight to everything just like the bunny did. I think the book is so sweet, allowing children to really relate to the bunny and wind down for bed time. I love that the images are also kind of simple, not too much detail to get it’s readers overwhelmed or too involved in whats happening in the bunny’s room. It’s just enough to look at to go along with the story. Don’t you wish it was still that easy to go to bed? One book and lights out? If only it were still that easy…

  2. katherinegrimm

    As you said, this classic children’s story brings back memories for many of us with similar reminiscence of falling asleep those countless peaceful nights. When sleeping on our bellies or back was the most comfortable position. All snuggled up in our footie pajamas, sucking our thumb or binkies with baby blankies and stuffed animals squeezed in our arms. My Beatrix potter night-light shining a light pink, warm glow behind my fun-sized rocking chair. As the on duty parent slipped out of my room after the chosen bedtime story was done and all prayers were said, they would leave the bedroom door cracked open just enough for them to check on me. Stirring me from my doze, I would realize they had went to bed. “Maaah-mm…” “Mooooommm!?!!” “DAAADDD??!” “MOMM!!!” Rushing to my room, they would burst in “What’s wrong??”, “Gooooudniight” I would reply with a sly smirk. Ohh those were the days.

  3. This was such a cute description of Goodnight Moon! Just by reading this I can really tell that this book was important to you. I can totally connect with that too, and I’m sure a ton of other people can as well. It really is such an amazing book even though it’s so simple. It’s kind of strange that a book where a character is just saying goodnight to all the objects around them can be so amazing to so many people that even after they grow up they still feel an attachment to it. I love the illustrations too, they’re so cute, and even though they’re a bit off with the perspective and things like that, they create such a great setting.

  4. The colors and graphics of this book make me feel like I’m in another time! It is definitely one I think everyone has read at least once.
    Great analysis!

Leave a comment