Bigby Character Analysis (Blog Entry 8)

I chose to analyze Bigby for the purpose of this post for two key reasons.  First, he is one of the main characters in the story and it mentioned a lot, so I feel as though I have really “gotten to know” him as a character.  Also, I find Bigby to be both very mysterious and interesting.  Even though I feel that his personality (angry, pessimistic, blunt, rude) is reflected in this book to the point where you feel like you understand him, I can also tell that he chooses what he says to others very carefully, which causes me to consider he knows a lot more about Rose Red’s disappearance than he is letting on.  He is definitely characterized as the Bad, yet Good guy consistently throughout the story.

His interrogation technique is something that I do not quite understand.  He acts as if he is very close to “cracking the case,” however, when interviewing the suspects, he is very accusatory and seems almost positive through all of his questionings that the one in question is guilty. EACH TIME.  Clearly, he is a play on “The Big Bad Wolf.”  Knowing this, I think that it was both clever and creative for Bill Willingham to have Bigby’s nose be his essential tool for solving crimes.  I also found it amusing how one of The Three Pigs stayed the night at his house, and Bigby offered his guest eggs and ham.  The pig was so disgusted he sneered, “you’re still a monster, through and through.”  It is very clear to me that Bigby is not very concerned with upsetting others.  Even when telling Snow White about her sister’s disappearance, he was very unemotional and unaffected to be the barer of bad news.  There have been times in the story where I’ve even wondered to myself if Bigby could be the one responsible for Rose Red’s disappearance.  I am very excited to read on and find out!

4 responses to “Bigby Character Analysis (Blog Entry 8)

  1. eleanorcovington

    I agree with your evaluation of Bigby here in many ways. His character is brusque and appears not to care about anything, but we as the readers seem to know better. I am glad that you pointed this out, because I feel as though it was a good writing technique on the part of Bill Willingham. His character could have easily just been a “big bad wolf”, but rather than making him a villain Willingham chose to make him one of the brooding, heroic-type characters. How do you think the way that he is drawn in the comic affects our understanding of his character? His eyes are always dark, his shoulders hunched, and he’s constantly smoking cigarettes. Do you think his character would have the same effect if he was drawn differently?

  2. jaredshedrofsky

    Nice analysis, I chose to analysis Bigby as well and had a slightly different take on him. I think it shows how Willingham tries to make his character development for Bigby very complex. I took Mr.Wolf as being tamed and enjoying the chance to break away from being the “Big Bad Wolf” for a while, but even after writing my post all about that I would not be surprised if he turned out much differently. Maybe being this intuitive detective is an outlet for all of the big and bad anger he has always portrayed in his stories. I agree and thought I know him as a character, but after reading your thoughts I am not so sure.

  3. Your analysis really made Bigby’s character come to life more for me. I like how you point out that he is always accusing each person they interview of being guilty. Not everyone can be guilty! Is that his way of trying to get them to confess? I also appreciate how you point out that he tries to say what people want to hear. That is definitely a red flag, and I could see how maybe he isn’t telling the whole truth.
    Maybe Bigby is the one who made this all happen!

  4. Bigby is a very interesting character and I have to agree that I think you did a great analysis on him. The way he presents himself is seemingly “bad” however he is still considered to be a “good” guy. I think knowing that he is “The Big Bad Wolf” really gives some explanation to his characteristics and personality. I don’t know about you but at this point I have read a lot farther in the novels and at this point I really like Bigby as a character, especially with how he presented the case. He is one very emotionless character! I do agree there.

Leave a comment