All I Want For Christmas is an Easy Bake Meth Lab (blog 5)

All I Want for Christmas is an Easy Bake Meth Lab!

The blog I chose to write about is called The Problem With Young People These Days and the specific blog entry being “All I Want for Christmas is an Easy Bake Meth Lab”. This is some of the best humor I have ever had the pleasure of reading and I recommend that everyone reads this if you want a good laugh. The purpose of the blog is to satirically show the differences in lifestyles, morals, and expectations of young people these days compared to “back in the day”. The author’s voice is a voice of an old man, and his audience can range from a teenager who his is bashing on, to another old man who would probably agree with the statements he is making. Because this is a satire, it over exaggerates every point the author is making, but which effectively gets the meaning across.

The reason why I chose this blog entry in specific, is because it is a perfect example of the domino effect that is a concern in our social and political society. This domino effect is the reason why gay marriage is still outlawed in almost every state. People believe that once we allow  men to marry each other, that children will start to marry animals or their toys. The blog entry “All I want for Christmas is an Easy Bake Meth Lab” begins by the author expressing his concern about Matel’s new release of Barbie who comes with tattoos. He then goes on to say that if this is acceptable, children will start to play with “Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder GI Joe”, “Monopoly (Occupy Version)”, “Nicotine Patch Kids” and finally “An Easy Bake Meth Lab”. The reason why this is effective is because it shows how ridiculous the domino effect is in our society. Just because children are playing with tattooed Barbies, does not mean they will soon be cooking meth in their play ovens. Similarly, just because men are marrying men, does not mean that men will soon be marrying their cats.

 

I think this blog will make just about anyone laugh. Not only are the blog entries hilarious, but the images he uses to illustrate and exaggerate his point are very effective. He does a great job of contrasting today’s society with the past, and also is very witty in his opinions about our government and current social structure. 

5 responses to “All I Want For Christmas is an Easy Bake Meth Lab (blog 5)

  1. I had never heard of this blog before, but I thought it was really funny! I am extremely cynical and satirical, and was able to connect with some of the stories presented, and the way in which they were presented. Even though I’m not old quite yet, sometimes I feel like I am one of those ancient ladies who sits on her porch watching all the young folk stroll by, all the while making comments about how much the current generation is failing the human population. I think the variety yet simplicity of the blog help to make it reach out to more people. And the ambiguity of the blogger’s voice also helps, because we aren’t really sure who is actually behind it all. Thanks for sharing this Natalie — I got a kick out of it!

  2. I also have never heard of this blog before but I look forward to checking it out. Something that I love in blog posts is when the author blends in humor to not only provide a point but also to educate. That sounds exactly like this blog here. So many intelligent authors can do this with ease and it is very good to see. The main example of this I believe is Seth Macfarlin from Family Guy. He might be a little main stream but the man is very intelligent and his humor has real depths. This sounds like a very cool blog and I look forward to checking it out.

  3. This is pretty ridiculous, I was going to order this easy bake meth lab, but ephedrine and light bulbs were not included, what a load of crap! I suspect that the Easy Bake Meth Lab would also help improve safety in the home baked drug production sector. A lightbulb may burn your fingers but it’s not as likely to blow up your damned house. LOL in all seriousness this was hilarious. I got a kick out of this blog and I find that you make a good point, “..perfect example of the domino effect that is a concern in our social and political society.” Well done.

  4. This is very funny, and a great find! I love satire. Will definitely have to come back to this again when I have more time to peruse. 🙂

  5. The title of this blog post made me check it and your analysis out! I sincerely enjoyed reading this piece. I enjoyed the clever names and ideas for the new toy concepts. However, I think he went a little bit overboard with his concern- although with that tramp stamp Ken tattoo Barbie was sporting, maybe he has a point. I liked the humor in the writing because even though he plays the “grumpy old man” persona, he does so with sarcasm and humor. It was easy to find myself nodding in agreement with him, even though it is our generation in which he is doing all the nay saying.

Leave a comment