I can’t believe this is already the end! (Blog Entry 14)

Overall, blogging has been a very positive experience for me. It has allowed me to improve as a writer because; I am forced to write near every day. Writing for a blog is not like academic writing, although they were both done for a grade.  Blogging allowed me to relax with my writing and put more personality in it than I feel I can with my academic papers. Although all posts have helped me and I have enjoyed doing them, my favorite was analyzing the Allie Brosh blog. I enjoyed reading a blog done successively, and gaining tips for my own.  Overall, I don’t know if there was one blog impaticular that stands out as being the most successful (or least successful). The whole experience has been a learning process for me.  I have learned how to incorporate certain elements of personality in with my critiques. I like that I am starting to learn how to balance the academic and personal sides to my writing.

At first when I learned we would be blogging for this class, I was a little scared. Sharing my work with others is something that I generally prefer not to do. I become embarrassed by my writing and I try to shy away from sharing it until I think it is absolutely perfect (which of course never happens).  With blogging, I was unable to postpone sharing my work and had to bite the bullet and share it. While I may not be the best writer, I don’t think I am as awful as I used to.  It was helpful seeing comments and criticism for my blog entries. None of them were harsh, and I found all to help me improve my writing for the next time. Although, I have analyzed visual elements before, this was the first time I was able to see other peoples interpretation and analyses of the same things. Certain things that did not strike me as different or odd, did others. It was fun to combine our thoughts to reach broader claims to help with our papers.

3 responses to “I can’t believe this is already the end! (Blog Entry 14)

  1. colleenjohnson5

    I agree that Allie Brosh’s blog was fun to analyze. She was able to make a blog that was also a narrative. Throughout the different topics she wrote on she maintained consistency in voice and visual elements. This gave her the ability to make her writing cohesive. I hadn’t read many blogs and I was glad I was introduced to the medium through her blog. I also viewed blogging as intimidating. I had never really done it, and especially not with deadlines. Your right that the deadlines made you ‘bite the bullet’. Though sometimes I felt what I had written was entirely the best I could do, but the time was about up and I just had to do it. It gave me practice in writing efficiently.

  2. I agree with you about blogging helping you “bite the bullet.” There were many times where I didn’t want to submit a blog and knew I just had to do it even if I didn’t have anything that informative or great to say. I also agree with you that blogging helped with papers! When I found myself at a loss for something else to write about or include I would just return to my blog and pick out more key thoughts that I had a few days before! I hope you continue to blog! Good luck!

  3. I really like what you said about balancing a personal and academic style of writing. I think that was what was the hardest thing for me. Blogging is a very personal style, whereas the papers were written in a classic academic style. I think the mixture of the two also helped me to form a personality in my writing. When I became used to writing in a blogging style and letting my personality show through my work, I was able to carry that over into my papers.

Leave a comment