The Nail Picker! (blog 6)

http://ericameade.com/mywork_minipaintings.html

In these series of 3 painting there is a clear focus on the human hand and fingernails. Picture one, there is a female face that is using her nails to pick the skin off her other finger. In the second one, she is picking at her lips and in the third it is just a painting of her hand. It is obvious that there is a theme that has to do with her using her nails and picking at her nail beds or dry skin. The colors that are used in this painting are really impressive. Usually when you think of the color of your skin or your nails you wouldn’t think that these would be painted with reds, blues, and greens. I really love her color choices. The painting technique that she used makes the picture come to life!

I think what makes this picture so interesting in the story behind it. She stated that this was an OCD habit of hers, as it is clearly portrayed in the paintings. In order to break free from this habit she decided that it would be important to make it into a visual with the hopes that this would help her combat the issue.  That to me is very interesting concept and makes the images powerful because we now know the purpose for their creation.

This made me think if I had anything that I needed to turn into a visual in order to combat a particular habit or characteristic. I couldn’t think of any bad habits that I have off hand but several negative characteristics came to mind. Would I be able to depict stubbornness? Is there some sort of way that I could put that down on paper with the hopes that it would help me overcome it? Then, this lead me to think if it is more of the process and desire to want to overcome something rather then turning it into a visual that will create the change? Perhaps it is a mix of both. Thoughts?

Honestly, I don’t know how the media has played a role in this. I suppose if anything it allowed me to have the opportunity to view her work. Actually that is very valuable now that I think about it… There is only one original of a painting and the internet has provided an opportunity to share that original with people all over the web. That is something to be impressed by!

7 responses to “The Nail Picker! (blog 6)

  1. I really like this picture that you have decided to use here because like you stated this was one of her OCD habits. Lots of people around the world have little habits that they do when they get nervous. Some bite their nails or chew on a pencil. While others shake their hands and flutter about. This nail picking photo for me shows all those emotions in a nice work of art. The reality of the photo matched with the the artistic touch added after makes this work of art very cool. Not to mention this is a piece that almost everybody can relate to when they are at times nervous.

    • Yeah I really think that everyone has OCD in one way or another. Some are not as severe as others. Like it was previously mentioned I think that these pictures are a great wasy to take something that is generally considered ugly or unattractive and turn it into something more thoughtful and bright.

  2. I found this piece to be extremely interesting because I too have OCD. I don’t share in her nail picking habit, but I related to her depiction of the disorder. This is interesting because even though OCD covers a broad range of different actions/ compulsions. Even though this is just a picture, it conveys my emotions of worry. I also think the piece was done beautifully, the colors are bright and subject matter is interesting. This shows the beauty of even a seemingly ugly disorder.

  3. Hi McKenna,
    This is an interesting series, and I think you’re doing a great job of talking about it… but I just wanted to point out that they’re by an artist named Erica Meade, not Alexa Meade, who was the artist we’re supposed to be blogging about!

  4. McKenna, I think that this is a very interesting piece to analyze. I hadn’t initially noticed it. I can see how this could be a picture that someone could overlook initially, but though not a standard subject for someone to try to portray artistically, it is a perfect detailed depiction of an everyday “bad habbit.” It’s crazy to me how she is able to make something so simple, and “socially unattractive,” according to some, so interesting to look at. I completely agree with you that this is certainly something to be impressed by!

  5. I agree, it is an interesting way of trying to break the habit of picking her nails. I for one, have a horrible habit of cracking my knuckles! Everyone around me flinches when I do it and my mom always yells at me, “You are going to give yourself arthritis!” I have made several New Year’s resolutions not to crack my knuckles anymore, but to no avail. That would be awesome if I could make my bad habit into art. Maybe I could record the sound of my cracking knuckles and force myself to listen to it until I no longer felt the urge to do it. That would be an idea! The bottom line is that I like the idea of turning one’s weaknesses into works of art. You must have a truly creative outlook to turn ugliness into art.

Leave a comment