Snow White: Heroine or weakling? (Blog Entry 8)

The character of Snow White is a major presence in the storyline of the graphic novel Fables, created by Bill Willingham. As the second in command of the community of Fabletown, Snow basically pulls all the strings among the fairy-tale outcasts that inhabit the “Woodland” as well as the up-state community of non-human fables called “the Farm”. In Vol. 1 of Fables, Snow Whites sister Rose Red has been murdered (or so we are led to believe throughout most of the volume) and she helps to investigate the crime. In this story she is strong and willful, not taking any crap from anyone (especially not Detective Bigby Wolf). It becomes obvious that her character is naturally very just, and does what is best for the entire community, unlike some of the other rather self-serving characters. When Fabletown needed her most, she was there to do her duty and protect that which the mismatched band of excommunicates held dear.

However, I feel as though her character is weaker in the second volume of Fables called “Animal Farm”. In this volume Snow and her (very much alive) sister Rose Red head to the up-state community of magical misfits, only to find them forming a rebellion against the city of Fabletown. They seek to gain control over their government and return to their homelands to win them back from “the adversary”, who stole their magical lands from them in a violent siege. Here, Snow loses her edge of bravado in my eyes. Her ignorance of what is happening when they arrive at the Farm, and then reluctance to accept it really bothered me. In the end she essentially saves the day, but not before making some foolish mistakes. Her character from the first volume seemed to be smart as a whip, but in this one she fizzles slightly. I will say though that throughout both volumes Snow White never loses her integrity, staying steadfast with what was right and just for the people of the Fable community.

6 responses to “Snow White: Heroine or weakling? (Blog Entry 8)

  1. I’ve just started the second volume and so far I’m also disappointed by Snow White’s character. She’s pretty bland compared to how strong and demanding she was in the first book. Her interactions with Rose are interesting but I feel like if my sister tried to fake her own death I would still be a littler bit upset at her and wouldn’t want to take a vacation with her, but that’s just my opinion. I think the author is trying to create a new persona for Snow but still stay true to her classic sweet princess identity. Unfortunately, they are going to extremes either extremely pushy and demanding or helpless and ignorant.

  2. sabrinagalloway

    I feel that I liked Snow White better in the beginning of the story than I do now that I’ve been reading for a while. I agree with you that she has begun to lose her bravado. In the beginning, she came off as a strong-willed and pretty female character. As the story progressed, I felt she become weaker and weaker in personal strength. Of course, I did consider the context of the story and felt that maybe this was right for her role. But I haven’t read too far into the second book, so I’m unsure where she will go with her role. I’m curious to see what part she will play throughout the second book and where her character will end up!

  3. I do agree with you that throughout both Fables never does lose her integrity. WIllingham almost portrays Snow as two completely different characters from Fables 1, to Fables 2. In the first Fables she was presented as a strong hardheaded character. But throughout Fables 2: Animal Farm, we see that Snow’s personality is changing. This was very disappointing to me. What do you think sparked Snows transition from a strong character to a more weaker character? At the end of the day Snow really does let her true personality show through!

  4. I have just begun to read animal farm. Admittedly so, I am also somewhat disappointed in Snow White’s character, though I was not very impressed with her in the first volume of the story either. I am excited to get further into the second volume of the story, because I have been pretty cynical regarding Snow’s character throughout the entire story thus far. For example, at the very beginning of the story, she seemed very uninterested in helping Beast and his wife with their marital problems. I think that a good leader would show more concern for the happiness of her citizens.

  5. I really felt as if her character was going to develop into one of the main focal points of volume two. Her strong characteristics would have made her a very interesting character to read about. I must say that I would have like her to be like this in Vol 2. I have not finished the story but I doubt she will make much of an impact the rest of the way. I enjoyed reading your post though and I look forward to seeing what happens the rest of the way with everybody else.

  6. As it’s already been mentioned in all the previous comments Snow was a little bit of a let down in the second novel. I think we were all assuming she was going to play her up tight, bad ass, all knowing role. I think it is great that you were able to put this into words because at times I noticed I was feeling irritated with her decisions in the second volume and I couldn’t quite figure out why. You nailed it! It was her demonstration of weakness that seemed unfamiliar and at times annoying. Thanks for finding the words and pointing this out!

Leave a comment