Where the Sidewalk Ends (Blog Entry 9)

If you never had a Shel Silverstein book as a child, you were deprived. Just putting that out there. That being said, one of his finer works that I have probably read cover to cover about a thousand times in my life is Where the Sidewalk Ends. This book, like other Silverstein books such as Falling Up and A Light in the Attic, consists of many poems with accompanying drawings to match the poems subject. The poems are goofy and kitschy, aimed at the sentiments of children but also funny to me even now, as an adult. Some hint at more serious issues through childlike means such as “Hug-O-War”, where the narrator wants to hug instead of play tug o’ war. Peace not war, love not hate, and all that.

 

Other poems, however were written solely to be silly and make the reader laugh a little bit, such as “The Acrobats”. This poem is written from the point of view of a trapeze artist who describes a trick that he and his partners are going to do. I feel as if this is one of the most successful drawings as far as the narrative of the poem goes. It allows the reader to visualize what the poem is saying, rather than trying to imagine what it would look like for you to “hang by your nose from a high-up trapeze”.

All of the drawings in the book depict what is happening in the poem with which it is paired, and shows the reader what Silverstein had in mind when writing them. In this way, kids can share in the crazy world that he has created and go on a journey with him. The poems are light hearted and humorous, and the drawings even more so. They brighten my day even now, and that is something I find truly special.

4 responses to “Where the Sidewalk Ends (Blog Entry 9)

  1. I can honestly say that no book changed my childhood like this book of poems did. When I got the book I was very skeptical that I was going to be able to get into the stories due to the fact they were poems. But after reading a couple of the poems that all changed for me. What a fantastic book of poems this was. Not only were the poems great but the artwork that went with them was fantastic and fitting. This is one of those books that I will always keep in my house and have my kids read.

  2. Shel Silverstein was a genius. Hands down one of the most talented writers out there. His poems were quirky and funny. I totally agree with you that if you didn’t have a Silverstein book then you were deprived. The artwork was even more interesting to me than the poems sometimes, I loved the quirky elements that everyone in the book has. The only poem I can think of off the top of my head was one about Mars, it was so entertaining. I remember having to memorize one of his poems and reciting it in front of the class. A lot of people read the one about boogers and cooties. Thanks for writing about this! It really brightened my day too!

  3. I loved this book growing up! I think it’s wonderful how a book of poems can be so appealing to children. I also think it’s great how effective the drawings are to children, seeing as how they are in black and white. But you are absolutely right, all of the drawings in the book definitely depict what is happening. I think that poetry can be difficult and sometimes boring for children. However, in Silverstein’s book, the images make the poems “make sense.” I think that illustrations are essential for children’s poetry books because it allows the reader/child to better understand what is going on in the poem or what the poem represents.

  4. i love were the side walk ends.

Leave a comment