Graphic Novels Blog #8

Fables has multiple elements that speak to me.  One of the first elements that I would like to talk about is the use of flashbacks.  First I very much enjoy when this is done because it allows me to have a better understanding of the character involved.  It allows me to have some background information which as we can tell will be very important in trying to figure out who the murderer was.  The more we know about the characters the better we will be at trying to make decisions about them  This is why flashbacks are so important.  I also like how the artist shows us that a flashback is occurring.  The golden frame and dark shading makes to realize that everything pictured here is occurring in the past.  It triggers me to file this under background information.  The artist does this very easily and it is something that is really not that easy to do.

 

A character that I would like to talk about is the character Bluebeard.  Now reading to where I have stopped I do not know who the killer is at this point.  Everything is still an assumption.  However Bluebeard has made himself quite the suspect for me.  Bluebeard has been know already for killing women.  So this muddier being a woman makes me put Bluebeard to the top of the list.  I’m not exactly sure how anybody could not put him on top of the most wanted list after a known killer of women could be involved with this killing.  The second characteristic of Bluebeard I would like to point out again is how Bluebeard can be easily angered and act on it as he does later in the story.  When Bluebeard gets into a physical altercation with Jack and Bigby and has to be separated.  The anger and the history of Bluebeard puts him to the top of my list and I’m very excited to move on reading the rest of the story seeing if my assumptions are any where near correct.

2 responses to “Graphic Novels Blog #8

  1. I totally agree with your comments about character development! I normally really enjoy in novels where I can create the character in my head and maybe that’s why I never thought I would like graphic novels all that much but so far I’m really enjoying Fables. I think I am enjoying these two books so much because I already have an image of the characters in my head because of being influenced by Disney and other cartoon productions for so many years.

  2. jaredshedrofsky

    I like your thoughts on the flashbacks used in the graphic novel. I enjoy them a lot too, and I think it quickly gives the reader insight into a further level of the story. Willingham does it very well like you said, it seems hard to jump from flashback to real time without any words but dialog to describe the switch. He illustrates it well and it brings attention to the memory showing it usually is an important piece to the story. I also agree with your statement about Bluebeard, he is certainly conniving in some way and I will be surprised if he does not turn out to be evil later on in the series. I guess most of them are partly criminals from before losing their world, but he seems like he will become a villain at some point for sure.

Leave a comment