a message from eastern civilization

Hello everyone! My name is Shujie Jin, and you can call me just by my last name Jin. When I type this, I am actually in Boulder. But I didn’t lie to you in the title of this post. It is a “message from eastern civilization” because I come from China. This is my sophomore year in CU boulder, and my major is biochemistry. The reason why I take biochemistry as my major is simple: I am interested in both biology and chemistry, and I am good at them. I currently hold a part-time job in the lab of Johnson, my professor, and the only thing I need to do there is collecting data. Honestly, I haven’t thought much about my future career yet, while I hope I can figure it out soon.

I am taking this course for some reasons. First of all, it looks interesting. Even though I am not in art major, art is one of my interests, especially painting, I would like to do some writings on art. Also, this course fulfills my upper division writing core requirement. And the most important one is that I need to improve my writing skills. I am not good at writing in English, and this course is actually a challenge for me. I am looking forward to gain some cool experience of writing from this course. I would define visual arts as work of arts that we can look at, such as paintings and films. Rhetoric is the art of speaking well. It is the strategy people use for expressing their thoughts. I am not quite a rhetorician. I normally just speak out or write down what I think directly. The rhetorical skill is something that I am lacking of and wish to learn.

That is it. Thank you for reading, and hope that my post is not way too late.

One response to “a message from eastern civilization

  1. Jin, it’s great to have you in the class! My brother pursued his PhD in biochemistry, so while I can’t pretend to know very much about it myself, I certainly respect biochemistry and how much work it can be!
    We can definitely work to make your writing in English stronger. From what I can tell, you seem pretty confident writing in English and you do a good job of expressing yourself, which is the most important thing, especially in a blog! And I think you will start to feel more strategic in how you use your rhetoric, too. 🙂

Leave a comment