Only time will tell… (blog 7)

After reading everyones post I believe I have this backwards. My books don’t say which is which. But please continue…

For this post I want to talk about the middle picture on page 17 and where I get my suspicions as to who killed Rose. In this picture there are a lot of elements at play because there is a lot going on in this strip. We learn a little bit about each character simply through their dialect. Before I jump to into their dialect I want to discuss the characters positions and facial expressions in this strip. I would say that the focal point of this strip is the pig that is sitting in between Snow White and Rose. He is slouched over, which gives a carefree and senseless suggestion as well as his facial expression. His face simply looks mean. He has yet to show any niceness to his character, and especially here looks extra grouchy. The way he says “Absolutely, Miss White” suggests to me that they have a very professional relationship. They are not close enough to call each other by their first name or share emotions. Miss White, as always is acting composed and is playing the professional role. Her body language speaks to this. The way she is sitting up tall, legs crossed and drinking tea helps explain her mentality and role at The Farm. When she says “tell me exactly what I walked into this afternoon” it almost shows her authority, supremacy and demanding nature. Rose is sitting on the couch seemingly relaxed and laid back. Her clothing also suggests this. When she says “…just like in a real person’s house” this suggests her lack of seriousness for the situation and respect for the animals. The dialog, postures and facial expressions all explain a lot about these three main characters. I believe that it was the middle pig (whose name I can’t find) that will kill Rose. If he doesn’t personally kill her he will definitely behind the set up. I feel that as an “activist” he finds Rose’s carless attitude offensive and thus giving a reason behind the murder….

Leave a comment