The Greatest Job in the World (blog 9)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NScs_qX2Okk

This ad, produced by Procter and Gamble, is one of the most powerful ads I have ever seen because of the emotional response it provokes. The ad begins by showing four different mothers in four different countries waking their children up in the morning to practice their sport. The mothers prepare their children breakfast and drive them or put them on a bus to get to their practice. The music playing in the background is beautiful and goes along perfectly with the cinematography. The first two minutes of the commercial has no dialogue at all. The children are filmed practicing their sports and the mothers are shown watching their children with pride. The remaining twenty seconds of this commercial show an competing Olympic swimmer, gymnast, runner and volleyball player, which are the children who have grown up. It is not until 1:55/2:02 minute long video that the words “The hardest job in the world, is the best job in the world” flash on the screen. This is followed by the only spoken dialogue in the entire commercial that says, “P&G, a proud sponsor of moms”. 

I cannot watch this commercial without tearing up. How could a company that sells laundry detergent and dish soap provoke such an emotional response out of people like me who are not emotional whatsoever? I think it is because no matter what kind of relationship a person has with their mother, you will always love them because they gave you life. I personally grew up as a competitive swimmer and have never been able to thank my mother enough for the countless 5:00 am swim practices she drove me to, or the amount of money that was spent on traveling and the newest goggles. Everyone who appreciates their mother or is a mother themselves can relate to this commercial and that is why it is so powerful.  This commercial does not need words because the combination of the acting, music, and lighting create this dramatic, touching, and heart warming advertisement that makes me respect the company of Procter and Gamble.

2 responses to “The Greatest Job in the World (blog 9)

  1. I’m so glad you wrote about a less frequently commented-on form of media on this blog. What a beautiful commercial! I’m curious, during what types of program have you seen this commercial?

    You do a great job of describing the ad. Though, I’m struggling with whether or not to call it an advertisement. Of course it is made clear who made the commercial, but no products are slammed in our faces. But perhaps that was the intention of the brilliant advertising execs. Maybe we feel better about buying certain products if they aren’t presented to us in an obnoxious ad.

    I found the abrupt transitions really powerful. Do you think this concept could work in print. I envision maybe a split-page where the child and mother are at practice and one side and earning the medal on the other. I think the same caption from the commercial could possibly work here. Any thoughts?

    Nice post!

  2. It always scares me when huge corporations are able to create advertisements that pull at my heart strings! I always resist and get mad and hope people don’t believe them or buy into it all. I can’t convince myself that there’s any heart behind their ploys for money and corruption.
    I do agree with your analysis though. I think moms are pretty much always a huge part of everyone’s life — unless there has been some falling out or something. I can also connect to the sports/competition side to it, even though my mom was a big factor in that. Lastly — I agree it doesn’t really need words!
    I’m glad you chose something different!

Leave a comment