A closer look into Fables (Bog Entry 8)

I thought the most interesting portrayal of character in Fables was Snow White. Growing up, I always had the picture Walt Disney painted of her in my head; a helpless woman who likes to clean the house, waiting for a man to save her. I think this might have been the image painted of her in the original fairytale as well. However, in the novel she is portrayed very differently. Here, she is a strong, independent woman. So much so, she is in mayor of the fable creatures. For me, her “helpless” identity I had previously branded her with, left in Fables: Animal Farm, when she is escapes Shere Kan. Here, there is no man helping her. She solely escapes death and finishes the tiger. This is a far difference from how she is depicted dancing with birds in Walt Disney. However, she is not merely a tough woman lacking feelings. Willingham and other authors show her dynamic character. They portray her sadness and vulnerability at the disappearance of her sister, Rose Red.  I now view Snow White as a more realistic character…even a role model to women.

I enjoy reading graphic novels. I think there is an art to not only writing the text and illustrating the images, but also how they are pieced together. Because there is limited text in these kinds of novels, there is an importance as to how images are represented.  I noticed a few elements in Fables  that occur throughout the novel. Firstly, to keep past events/ memories separate from the present. This is done through the fancy and eloquent framing. For example, on page 39 of Fables much of the page is surrounded by this frame keeping it separate from the last frame in the bottom corner (the present). Another element that is reoccurring is the difference of lighting throughout the novel. Often the past is painted in darker colors. However, other important scenes are also painted to show their importance. For example, when Rose Red is unveiled as the “murderer” behind her own death the scene is painted in a pale pink (95). Another instance is a few pages later when Bigby and Snow White are talking on the roof and Bigby finally expresses to Snow White he has an interest in her( 118). The ability for these artists to portray importance and separate events is a pretty cool ability to have.

5 responses to “A closer look into Fables (Bog Entry 8)

  1. I really like your portrayal of Snow White, I agree that I’ve always seen her as a helpless and rather “boring” princess. She was never one of my favorites growing up, but in the novel she really intrigues me. There is so much secret surrounding her, from her relationship to Prince Charming (how she ended up being the second wife), to her falling out with her sister and to her stand-off tendencies towards the dwarves. I can’t wait to learn more about her and see where her relationship with Bigsby goes and see if that changes anything in the Fairy Tale world.

  2. I think your analyzation of Show White is very interesting, and brought up good points that I had not yet thought of. For example, I had forgotten the domesticated “housekeeper” image that had been portrayed in Snow White’s character in the Disney movie. She definitely did not come off as a leader, which is the role she is put in for the Fables story. Additionally, there is a contrast in Snow White’s overall personality between the two stories. In the Disney version, the version that most of us are likely more familiar with, Snow White is very sweet and innocent. The Snow White in this story is very manipulative and seems to be easily annoyed with others. I think it is really clever how you compared the two, because this is something that I (surprisingly) had not done yet!

  3. I agree completely that my perception of Snow White has changed after reading this book. She is portrayed as a helpless woman in the original fairy tale but she is exactly the opposite here. I think Willingham does this for a lot of the characters and gives them an opposite persona that most readers are used to. It is really interesting that you noticed the lighting in the different frames of the book and how it differs between the past and the present. I think it is amazing what graphic novelists can do with their illustrations because the pictures have to be able to say one thousand words! Great analysis!

  4. I agree with you that framing is super important in graphic novels. When I first started reading the first Fables, I was a bit confused whether events were happening simultaneously or if the event was a flashback or whatnot. After getting into the story, I had a much easier time knowing when Willingham was depicting the past versus the present or whether he was jumping over to something that was happening in another part of the city. I would get confused too as to whether the events in Fabletown were happening in real New York City time or whether they were in a separate magical place, that did not work in the same way that reality worked. As a graphic novelist, especially one with such a big imagination like Willingham, one needs to be specific and clear in defining time, place, etc.

  5. I agree with what you said and with what everyone said above. This Snow White is definitely much more strong and opinionated, in a good way. I can see how she could be a role model to some, much more than the Snow White Disney has shoved down all our throats.
    I also like the framing and the change in shades/colors. The framing is just a simple way of making the memories separate and I think it does a good job. The differences in shades/colors/etc definitely helps to separate the past from the present, and in a way that is simple to understand.

Leave a comment