Analyzing a Friend (Blog Entry 5)

“Whether looking out or looking in I look, search, always seeking after something beyond reach, sinking slowly downward, immersing myself in this place, one continually growing in intricacies & depth unforseen … Feeling light within I walk, propelled by my dreams, further into the abyss of the unknown. Darkness surrounds me, but the breeze reassures my existence, my presence. I shine, for those who can see.” (Gazing into the Abyss, Alexandra Janak)

The blog I chose to write about today is my friend’s personal art blog. We have lived together for two years and I think her art speaks volumes to her unique individuality and artistic vision. Outside of her art, she has an eccentric personality, but her artwork and blog takes on a persona all of its own. The purpose of this blog is to make her artwork visible and to express her personal artistic viewpoints. I would say the audience is anyone interested in art. As it is published in a public forum, that makes it available to almost anybody. She only started this blog about a month ago, so as of now she does not have many followers. Feel free to check it out at http://lexiejanak.com/! She’d appreciate it. I think her art is meaningful to the present because it possesses post-modern themes of ambiguity and truth though individual insight, which are relevant in this day and age.

Her blog implements written work as well visual. The layout is simple, clean and easy to read and follow. I think she uses them effectively to reflect the content of her artwork. One blog accompanying an artwork titled, ‘Gazing into the Abyss’ carries themes of being immersed in a sea of unknowing. The included passage above is her writing accompanying it. Though it is a shorter entry, I find it eloquently provides more context to her otherwise abstract painting. The blog, ‘Gazing into the Abyss’ is about one of her multi-media artworks. It features a black spiraling background created with ink. Stalactites and stalagmites painted with acrylic and oil, frame the ‘abyss’ creating a depth and sense of looking in and or through at something (or nothing). Also painted red, green and blue with acrylic and oil are circles created by circles, reemphasizing a sense of spinning. Embedded within the cave features are green, purple, red and blue interlocking triangles created by paper collage. Her writing accompanying it provides some insight to herself and the motive of her art. Her writing effervesces with ambiguity, which is fitting for the abstract art it is describing. Also, her use of ‘I’ in the writing adds more character to her blog persona.

Being my friend, I of course recommend this blog, but not just because she is my friend. Her art is different and her written voice stands out from most. She possesses nostalgia through ambiguity that embodies feelings with which we all can identify and I think she does well at conveying them both through her words and artwork.

4 responses to “Analyzing a Friend (Blog Entry 5)

  1. I think it’s wonderful that you shared your friend’s work with us. Her art is interesting, and she writes with a thoughtful, unique voice! Nice. 🙂

  2. colleenjohnson5

    She is a very interesting person and artist, I’m glad you checked out her site! She works hard.

  3. When we received this assignment for this blog entry, I wished I had a blog of someone close to me to analyze. I have to admit I am a little jealous of your friend. I have wanted an excuse to blog and a chance to work on some art of my own. This was a great idea on her part to combine the two to create a whole new work of art. I found her blog/ artwork not only very good, but also interesting- which is one of the best things art can be. Kudos to your friend and her work, it is clear she is passionate and talented!

  4. colleenjohnson5

    Thanks for checking her out! It takes a lot of work (and time) to create a blog, hopefully you’ll find time to create your own! I know I would like to also, but time is something I don’t have much of at the present moment

Leave a comment