Awkward…(Blog Post 4)

http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2010/03/awkward-situation-survival-guide.html

This image portrays two people engaged in conversation. One person is speaking with their face in close proximity to another person. The second person does not appear fond of the “close speaker.” The next frame of the picture shows the second person sticking their tongue out and dragging it up the close speakers face. The close speaker seems confused by this. In the last frame the two people are standing there awkwardly with frowns on their faces. The drawing was created for the blog entry titled “The Awkward Situation Survival Guide” and it was placed under the category “encounters with close talkers.”
I think that this image is quite hilarious; though I might favor it for personal reasons. My friends and I sometimes lick each other and we have had discussions before about licking and how the act of licking symbolizes close friendship. Also, the image is funny because it is amusing to imagine the characters as real people in a real scenario. The actual image to me is comical, along with the rest of Allie Brosh’s drawings, since they are so crude. Brosh tells us in her FAQ section that she purposely creates her drawings like that because bad drawings are funnier. I agree with her! The drawing looks like a child made it and that adds even more humor to the image. Having three sequential frames make up the picture forces you to view it in three separate parts. It’s similar to a comic strip. There is a story being told with three pictures.
The three pictures make the image work because there is a clear beginning, middle, and end. It definitely relies on the narrative told by Brosh because if I were to see this picture on it’s own, I would not think it was as funny because the context is missing. I think it could still be funny, but a little more confusing on it’s own. I enjoyed the blog entry as a whole since I have found myself in similar awkward scenarios. Some of the solutions Bosh came up with were not that funny to me. I think I gravitated towards the licking image because of the somewhat “inside joke” I have with my friends. I only wish that the blog entry was a little longer! The image I chose did not necessarily add to the blog entry as a whole since the blog entry was divided into different sections, but it was consistent with how she drew and posted the other pictures in the blog entry.

2 responses to “Awkward…(Blog Post 4)

  1. I love how Bosh uses simple cartoons that look like they were drawn by first graders to get a powerful message across. The imagine that you chose was so simplistic but yet, had a greater meaning to it. This is why I like Boshs style of blogging, she makes something so simple that you would never think about, into something that can bring a lot of mixed emotions. This particular picture needs context in order to be fully understood. You and your friend must have a very close bond if you guys can joke around my licking one other, that is friendship right there haha! I really liked how you chose this specific cartoon, you did a great job analysing the message that Bosh was trying to get across!

  2. The more I look at this sequence the more I laugh. It is definitely awkward and very funny. At first I thought the last scene to the sequence was the funny part (where they both stand there frowning awkwardly). But now, when I look again, I noticed that the person licking was frowning BEFORE he licked the other persons ear! That gave a whole new meaning to this illustration. The person licking isn’t just someone’s ear as a joke. No, he is a weirdo who stands there creepily, looks at ear, licks ear, and goes back to standing there creepily. Nice post and I like how you included Brosh’s commentary on how bad drawings are funnier.

Leave a comment