It never stops (Blog Entry 4)

Click to see post: Hyperbole and a Half: This is Why I’ll Never be an Adult

I am chose to write about Allie Brosh’s post titled This Is Why I’ll Never Be an Adult.  The basic premise is how she attempts to make changes to her daily routine to try and be more responsible and get more things done.  She usually starts out very determined and driven to really accomplish more things throughout the day such as emailing, going to the bank, cleaning the house, grocery shopping, and laundry.  She admits that this enthusiasm of hers only lasts a day or so and then she begins to deviate from her plan.  Her motivation decreases when she starts to feel satisfied with what she has accomplished.  Soon enough she ends up dismissing her routine as the final illustration shows her on her computer typing into the early hours of the morning.

The reason I chose to write about this blog post is because I found the series of illustrations quite comical.  These images, along with the narrative, are humorous because of the truth behind the story and how relatable it can be to just about anyone.  I’m sure we’ve all experienced something similar to this.

I think that this work could stand alone as a comic strip without the context of the narrative.  However, I think that the narrative provides more value to the story.  I find that it’s the narrative that really makes this work a piece of art whereas the illustrations make up a picture book.

I think that this piece is very effective with its message.  I especially like it because it describes a situation that most people experience but many never would think to talk about.  When reading this post it would be hard not to tap in to self deprecation as you realize how irrational you may be at times.  My favorite part of the post was when she described how her guilt from her ignored responsibilities only perpetuated her procrastination – so true.

2 responses to “It never stops (Blog Entry 4)

  1. The last picture is a true winner. I liked this blog as well because as a young adult I find that I could relate to her in a lot of ways. Currently my adult life revolves around the planning stages and I think step by step what I should get done, yet it never happens and I feel unaccomplished that day. Many of our classmates chose to write about this blog, however; I decided to comment on yours because of this, “When reading this post it would be hard not to tap in to self deprecation as you realize how irrational you may be at times.” This incredibly true and Allie allows us to take a step back and realize that we are all a bunch a babies that need to suck it up! Anyways, when I get older I plan to have my children do all my chores so I can play on the internet; win-win!

  2. This is a pretty funny post. You did a good job describing the narrative of the post. That being said, I do wish you had described the images after mentioning them. You talk about how effective they are, but you don’t say why. Well you do say that they are humorous and you can relate to them. I agree, there are some great images in this post. I just think it would make your writing stronger to mention specifics about what the images look like and how they are humorous. What stood out to me the most in this was the last line. I think it was very perceptive to say her guilt perpetuated her procrastination and that wasn’t something I picked up on when reading this.

Leave a comment