Bye Bye Blogging…for now.

So I’ve come to the conclusion that I have a love/hate relationship with blogging. I don’t have a problem sharing my thoughts and feelings with others via the internet, in fact I may be more comfortable doing it in a blog entry than telling someone how I feel and what I think face-to-face. The problem with blogging, or I guess I should say the obstacle that I am still trying to overcome, is the technological aspect of blogging. I thought I was fairly tech savvy before this class, but it turns out I have (embarrassingly) never used GoogleDocs even! I really struggled with WordPress at first, just figuring out how to insert a photo in my post was challenging. Then there are all these other features on the blogging site, like tagging entries, categorizing them, I was all confused. I can appreciate that WordPress is very customizable, but at the same time, I was just thinking, “Why the hell are there so many different options for writing a blog entry!”

I am not proud of many of my blog entries academically speaking. I honestly wish I had more time to put into this class and really focus on my writing and improving as a writer. I think that I had good input on whatever images or films, etc that we were discussing, but my actual writing was not the best I could have put out there. I really enjoyed writing about visual arts since it was an interest of mine to begin with, but I do think that I would enjoy blogging more and writing more when I don’t have to write about something specific every day. Back in the fall, I actually wanted to start a blog writing about thrift store fashion and I got all excited to post pictures of my latest outfit that I created using items I bought at Goodwill or the Salvation Army. My roommate and I even bought cute dishware from the thrift store that I wanted to photograph and write about so badly! I never did start the blog, but I think that I would be more motivated to write about topics that were close to me and that I was really passionate about. I love writing down my dreams from the night before. I think I should start a personal blog to archive all my dreams!Image

One response to “Bye Bye Blogging…for now.

  1. What we graduate in sometimes evolves into a different entity…. another profession. Do not limit yourself to just science. I have a biology degree and masters in environmental sciences but would drop it all for a job in politics. I wouldn’t have said this 10 yrs ago but at 36 I’ve changed. My professors taught me the universal paradigm (graduate, get internships, establish a career around your education). However they failed to mention layoffs, job hopping due to stagnant wages, relocating, marriage and kids. In other words their paradigm only applied to them. We make our future even if there isn’t paper to show classes or grades. Google, Amazon, other tech companies are testing new recruitment techniques because the best workers alot of times are self taught without a higher education. I think this will probably become more popular as grads are pressed to make money and therefore reinvent themselves in something their degree has nothing to do with.

Leave a comment